Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Can't decide what programmer to buy

Status
Not open for further replies.

nadav2605

I'm a total newbie in electronics and pic programming. I want to start building circuits with PICs that controll LED's. I don't know how it's done and i don't know what i need to get started.
I do know i need a PIC programmer, don't know exacly which kind but i was looking around a bit and found three options that look good to me. If you can tell me what each one of them pros and cons and which one should i get.

First one -

Second one - **broken link removed**

Third one - **broken link removed**

Thanks in advance.

First one: Clone of the PICkit2 programmer, supports a ton of chips.

2nd one: A JDM programmer. You have a higher chance of winning a lottery than that thing working the way you want it to.

3rd one: Tiny support list.

First one: Clone of the PICkit2 programmer, supports a ton of chips.

2nd one: A JDM programmer. You have a higher chance of winning a lottery than that thing working the way you want it to.

3rd one: Tiny support list.

OK so i guess i'll go with the JuneBug according to your recommendation. I do have some questions about it. I understand that it is a pic programmer. If so, why on the picture of the device i can see two places for chips that can be taken off? First one to the right of the buttons and second to the right of the status LED's. Don't i need only one place to put my pic and program it?