Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Cannot program PIC18F452

Status
Not open for further replies.

yngndrw

Hi,

I'm new to PIC programming, but not to general programming. (Mainly Visual Basic, C, C++ and PHP) I've been programming the PICs in ASM basically because it's a new thing and I like to learn new stuff. :)

I have a Velleman K8048 programmer and a PIC16F627 which I started off with, that all went fine and I had that interfaced with an LCD as my first project. I was able to program that fine, through ICSP on a breadboard.

I then bought a PIC18F452. For this I decided to make a bootloader.

After making a program, I tried to program it but the programmer software which comes with the K8048 but this software only supports the PIC16F series.

I then googled (A lot) for a compatiable programmer and the only one I found to do what I wanted was WinPic.

I installed WinPic and set it up to use:
* SMPORT
* Custom interface on COM port
* The pre-made "velleman_k8048.ini" custom interface file
* COM2

When I press Initialize, in the messages box I get:
Failed read back of DATA line (LOW) !
WARNING: Could not initialize programmer !

I also noticed that when I did anything with the K8048 programmer software, the Read/Write light flashed off, on the programmer, but with ANY other software which I've tried, it does not.

The Read/Write light is connected to the VPP line.

There is a circuit diagram for the K8048 here.