Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Can I use a 240v input variac on 110vinput?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Daley

Hello there

I am a novice at electronics and am wondering if someone here can help me.

I have a Powerstat Variac mode l3PN216C. It is rated for a 240v input. I would like to use it on a standard 110v electrical outlet. It has a 110v cord and plug on it but the outlet is different, the two pins are in the opposite direction. Can I simply shange the outlet for a 110v one and use it or do I need to change something inside? There are 7 Terminals inside and I have ound a link to the diagram here

https://www.danaherspecialtyproducts.com/uploadedFiles/Siteroot/Superior_Electric/Products_and_Solutions/POWERSTAT%C2%AE_Variable_Transformers/INSTR_116C-217C%28213709-063C%29.pdf

Maybe I cant use it and need to get a 110v one but I hoped to get some expert advice before giving up on it.
Many thanks in advance for any input.

Last edited by a moderator:
It depends on what you want to run on it. If it's a 500VA variac then you can do approx 125VA on it. Hopefully one of the analogue guys will confirm of shoot me outa the water on this. I'm a digital guy.

Edit, Thinking about it, you should manage a higher rating than that.

Mike.

Yes. Check this link: http://www.danaherspecialtyproducts.com/uploadedFiles/Siteroot/Superior_Electric/Products_and_Solutions/POWERSTAT®_Variable_Transformers/INSTR_116C-217C(213709-063C).pdf

upload_2016-1-6_11-45-44.png