Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Can anyone help me build a flux capacitor?

Status
Not open for further replies.

magician13134

I've been saving up my money with my heart set on getting a DeLorean, and no Delorean would be complete without the flux capacitor... I've seen them for sale:
https://www.bttf.net/ProductDetails.asp?ProductCode=21007
but being an electronics hobbyist, I'd MUCH rather make one... I should be able to find a case alright, but I'm just concerned about the streaking lights in the middle... What on earth would I use for that? I've been considering 3 rows of LEDs, but the blue LEDs I have are too blueish... I want it to be whiter. Also, what would be the best way to power that? I don't think the DeLorean has a cigarette lighter/charger plug thingy... Any help at all is appreciated.

(Oh and I've already got the Mr. Fusion to give it the 1.21 Gigawatts of power! Hee hee ;) )

Really? I'm not great at this stuff, but I'd wager that I could build one for under $50. I can pick up clear lexan for for $3 a sheet, an aluminum case should be $5 at a thrift store or similar, and the components should be:
(1) AVR (atmega168 or similar) - $6
(24) LEDs - $4
Various perfboard or a homemade PCB - $1 - $3
Some form of power - $3
Wire - Free

Am I overlooking anything blatantly obvious?

Oh, and I was kidding about having a Mr. Fusion, but it turns out, models are available, but really expensive:
**broken link removed**
$600, yuck!

EDIT