Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Calculate the voltage drop.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Montero

Hey guys, sorry for the silly questions, but I'm very new to OHMS law.

I need to found out the voltage drop across R2:

Vs: 120 v
VD1: 25v
VD3: 67v
R1: 5Ω
R2: 5.6Ω
R3: 13.4Ω

Can someone please show me how to work this out so I don't need to be shown again? Thanks.

Ohm's Law

Hi Montero,

I just did only a small part of your obvious homework problem.

The questions contained in the schematic are up to you to answer properly and accurately.

You should be able to solve the rest of the problem all by yourself.

And please remember this: All forum members are willing to help and assist. What nobody will do: Making the homework for lazy students! :mad:

Boncuk

Last edited:
Montero,

There are many, many ways these components could be connected together. A schematic would be necessary to solve the problem.

Ken

Montero,

There are many, many ways these components could be connected together. A schematic would be necessary to solve the problem.

Ken

Objections, your honour!

There is only one way according to the values given. It is a straight series connection of three resistors with a total voltage of 120V, one resistor voltage drop of 67V and and one with a drop of 25. Just one value is missing there.

Boncuk

Objections, your honour!

There is only one way according to the values given.

Boncuk