Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

C-compiler for PICs

Status
Not open for further replies.

ksor

I'm going to choose a C-compiler for my hobby-projects with MPLAB 8.43

I have been programming Fortran, turbo Pascal, VB, VBA, C# for 20-30 years.

CCS - where can I download it ?
HI-TECH C - I have downloaded it from Michrpchip
http://www.sourceboost.com/CommonDownload.html

What shall I choose for my MPLAB IDE ?

Last edited:
C# used to be called Java when I started programming! lol.

CCS is a good program, use it in work, never give me problems, in fact, I find it easier than C18.
Hi Tech C is pretty much the same as Microchip's own compiler, I believe the code is portable between the two.
Source Boost has had good reviews also.

99% Of the Microchip Libraries are available for CCS in some ported form or other.

For a free solution I would go with Microchip's own compilers / Hi Tech Demo compilers, I believe there is just an optimisation limit for MChips, not sure about Hi Tech, might be a 2K limit.

CCS C is expensive software, they might have a demo version on their website.

Wilksey

HI-TECH C - I have downloaded it from Michrpchip

What shall I choose for my MPLAB IDE ?