Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

C++ Builder and USB<->RS232

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sling

Hi I am trying to make an application with C++Builder which communicates with a PIC16F877A which has a RS232 interface. Unfortunately my computer only has USB ports so I have bought a USB to RS232 converter cable.

Well I am a complete beginner to C++ Builder so really at this point I don't even know it will be possible to do this... Any help and advice would be really appreciated.

You use a UART-USB FTDI cable (yours might be similar, I don't know). ANd just program the PIC like you would normally using a UART. THe PC needs virtual COM drivers which make a USB appear as an RS-232 port and program the PC software the same way.

So basically you're really using a USB cable but it looks like you're using a UART/RS232 from the PC and the PIC.

So to code it, I do the same as if my computer has an RS232 connection?

Thanks dknguyen.

BTW I don't suppose anyone knows of a good tutorial for this type of application? I can find plenty of snippets of code on the internet but I'm not completely sure how to apply them and I'd like to understand them better anyway.

Last edited:
Pretty much. Just make sure you have the USB driver installed for the cable that makes the USB port appear as a Virtual COM port (RS-232). On the PIC side it's just a UART so you just program the PIC firmware with that.

What tutorial are you looking for?