Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Buzzer/Speaker...What's the diff?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Urahara

Hi

This may be a basic question, but I guess I am still new to all this.

What I want to do is to produce a beep, a sound quite similar to those produced on a PC when u press, say, a wrong key. I believe I hv a piezzo buzzer and do not seem to be able to produce such a sound.

Is there a difference btw a buzzer and a speaker for me to produce such a sound? I just wanted something that you can connect directly to the pin of the uC and if not possible, at least as few components as possible and importantly, does not consume a lot of power, as I am trying to see if it works with a battery-operated project.

Thks!

Hi

This may be a basic question, but I guess I am still new to all this.

What I want to do is to produce a beep, a sound quite similar to those produced on a PC when u press, say, a wrong key. I believe I hv a piezzo buzzer and do not seem to be able to produce such a sound.

Is there a difference btw a buzzer and a speaker for me to produce such a sound? I just wanted something that you can connect directly to the pin of the uC and if not possible, at least as few components as possible and importantly, does not consume a lot of power, as I am trying to see if it works with a battery-operated project.

Thks!
This question is often asked.

The piezo sounder requires a square wave drive signal to produce a sound.