Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Building opamp circuit first time, using LTspice first time.

Status
Not open for further replies.

antknee

I'm looking to build a circuit using a TCA0372 opamp that will drive a piezo. I discovered LTspice earlier today and it looks excellent. So I have put the circuit into the program. I haven't put in the component values so I can't 'run' it, yet. I'm looking for some input on whether this circuit is going to work as intended. I'm a beginner at electronics so there will probably be a few mistakes.

The opamp I'm using is the TCA0372. I've attached the datasheet. It'll be configured for single supply and non inverting. The Gain bandwidth product is just enough.
The input will be from a signal generator 4V-8V , 50ohms, at 100KHz
The supply voltage 40V DC.
Output gain times 10 (20dB)
It'll be driving a piezo 2nF and impedance 100ohms, resonant frequency 100KHz.

arwesd-jpg.40184

The opamp doesn't really come with any application hints,

1) Do I have to protect the power sources with some kind of bypass?

2) Opamps aren't good at driving piezo's so I think standard practise is to use a resistor in parallel to an inductor to compensate. I'm not sure if the values are right though?

3) This opamp doesn't require a pcb layout does it? I need to build it on a breadboard if possible.

Thanks for your input,

Antknee.

Attachments

• tca0372..pdf
    142.1 KB · Views: 390
  • arwesd..jpg
    arwesd..jpg
    8.1 KB · Views: 3,733