Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Building an Emergency Light

Status
Not open for further replies.

juan123

I am a newbie to electronics. I would like to build an emergency light for my house with a 5ah 12 volt battery. Does anyone have a simple circuit I could build? I would like it to be: when the electricity goes out, the emergency light goes on. Thanks for any help!

just a tip. it is good if you cand find a lead acid battery. they take it very well when overcharged. so you could have a circuit that will charge the battery with say, 500mA and then use a trickle charge, like 100mA or 50mA. this way the batt will always be full.
for the light, you could use an economic light. that way for 15W or even 9W you could get enought light, and still the battery will last enough time. there is, though the problem with the conversion. you could check this circuit: https://tacashi.tripod.com/elctrncs/inverter/inverter.htm
i have biult it and works ok. but i had the transformer already built. :D
if you are interested i cand design a cricuit for this. but maybe some have other solutions.

I'm not sure what you were planning but one thing I'd consider is that LEDs might be more efficient than traditional filaments. I know that doesn't solve your control problem.

leds are more efficient than incandescent lamps.
but if you just want some leds, why use such a high capacity battery?
anyway, please tell us more details of what you want...