Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Building an electronic music box - need help

Status
Not open for further replies.

nerdstatus1

So I'm building an electronic music box for my fiance for Valentines day.

Here is what I am using:

A knock off mp3 player (loaded with a song by Il Divo)
A snap action switch
Cheap speaker from Walmart
Wire/solder

I'm new to anything like this, it just seemed like a simple DIY project I could do.

I plan on taking apart the mp3 player and using the wire to connect the mp3 circuit board to one side of the switch, and the battery to the other. From there I'd just hook in the speaker to the headphone jack of the mp3 player to play the sound. In my mind...that seems like it would work.

I already have the mp3 player, the switch, and the speaker.

My questions are these:

1. Can I get wire/solder anywhere for cheap? I don't need very much, so I'd prefer not to buy in bulk or anything...just the smallest amount. Or if there's somewhere to look for scrap pieces or anything.

2. Is there a specific type of wire used for something like this?
3. Is there a specific way the wiring has to be hooked up? In my mind...it just seems like you'd hook one wire from the mp3 to one end of the switch, and a wire from the other end to the battery.
4. After thinking about that....where would I connect the wire to the mp3 player and battery? I've seen it done in a couple videos, but I'm not sure how they went about it.