Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Building an Aircraft Communications Receiver

Status
Not open for further replies.

katzelect

HI,

I am somewhat new to all of this, & had a few questions for the pros on here. :)

I am thinking of building this Aircraft Communications Receiver, it looks simple enough that I could do it. :D

Questions;

1. What is the "range" on something like this? I don't actually live near any airports. Actually, I am pretty far out in the country (woods).

2. I don't understand what the purpose of "L1" in the circuit. Is that for a "fine tune" or calibration adjustment & then you let it alone?

3.What type of antenna would you use for this?

Also, I came across **broken link removed** site that modifies an existing am/fm radio to receive these signals? Would that work?

It all looks like it should be fun, but I don't want to put alot of time/effort into it if it wouldn't work for my particular application/location.

Thanks to all for the replies & trying to help a noob out!

Aircraft "MAINLY" use the frequency range of 108Mhz to 136 Mhz with 108 - 118 mainly used for data, therefore the main frequency range you would need is 118 - 136Mhz

If you want the full breakdown of spectrum look here: https://www.jneuhaus.com/fccindex/aviation.html

The frequency range they mention for that receiver is actually used for Military communications