Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Building a 12V power supply: Putting Solid Caps in Series?

Status
Not open for further replies.

TimLaw

Building a 12V power supply: Putting Solid Caps in Parallel?

Hello,

This is my first post on Electro Tech and it is kind of weird because I don't have the ability to help any of you, but hopefully in the future I will be able to provide assistance. But for now, I am a plain old newbie.

So, I am in the planning stages of building a 12V power supply. I will be basing the design off something like this: **broken link removed**

Something I'd like to try to do with this particular project is use all solid organic polymer caps instead of a huge electrolytic capacitor. I know well made electrolytic caps aren't bad, but this is something I'd like to try.

Thing is, there is no one polymer cap that can fit the bill just like a electrolytic cap can. What I was thinking was that I could put about 15 35V 150uF caps in series.

Now would this work?

What would I have to take into consideration if I was to go this route?

Anything else I should know?

This would be the solid polymer cap I would use. ~$49 for 15 of them. A bit pricey but it may be worth it. Or not: **broken link removed**

Whether or not I make the supply with all solid caps is still up in the air, but I'd like to know if it a) is even possible b) what problems could it cause.

Thank you very much. I appreciate it.

-Tim

Last edited: