Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Buck converter questions (integrated inductor?)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gordito

I am adding a buck converter SMPS IC to my PIC serial data translator/transceiver in order to be accept a source voltages of 12v or 28v DC, output 5V for IC's @about 50 to 60mA load. PIC is running on a 20mhz crystal. Attached is the schematic (The 7805 will be replaced by the SMPS).

It's my first time using a buck converter. I've read about them, done research, some shopping and now have a few questions. This device is for somebody else so i value reliability over component price. I can't have issues about brown-outs or EMI once it's shipped, obviously. I'd like to minimize footprint but that's a lower priority (but excludes ready made 20$ smps boards).

1. It seems the major hassles with buck converters are related to the inductor and pcb EMI due to traces. I've searched for "integrated inductors" to mitigate this and found that TI and Enpirion make some but they only accept input voltages up to 5.5v.

Anyone knows of integrated inductor buck converters accepting from 12v to 28v input? I might have missed them. Or are there other solutions without inductors? Preferably thru hole (haven't done SMD yet but could always solder it i suppose).