Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Branch Circuit Monitoring

Status
Not open for further replies.

rowlandsw

Hello,
I am looking for cheap current sensors for a Branch Circuit Monitoring project I am wanting to put together for my home. I am completely new to these kind of projects, so I don't have a good grasp on suppliers, etc...

All I need is a voltage to come out of a sensor that is proportional to the amount of current flowing through the current.

I have found several of these, but the all seem, to me at least, to be rather expensive. I am looking for something in the $1-$5 range, since I need 30, and about $200 is all I can devote to a hobby project right now. Most of the ones I have found have been between $20 and $50 EACH!
Any advice is much appreciated!
Thank you

Thank you. I did check DigiKey, but didn't find that item in any of my searches, they have so many products, and these things seem to go by so many names, I guess I didn't enter the appropriate search terms. I even got on an online chat with them, and the only thing they offered me was about $40.
I will search there for some higher amperage transformers as well, since I want to monitor all of my circuits, and my well, water heater are 30A, my heatpump is 40A and the backup heat for the heatpump is 60A.

Ok, I think I will use some of those CT's from DigiKey, so here is my next question.
There seems to be an unlimited amount of products that I could use to interface with these devices.