Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Boosting TV signal

Status
Not open for further replies.

PeterDove

Hi All,

Electronics newbie here again...well I know a little more now mostly down to audioguru :)

Can anyone tell me what chip would be best to use to amplify/boost a TV signal as our reception isnt brilliant... I want to make my own :)

also would the same chip boost a video signal - I have made a video to cat5 balun and wondered about signal boosting.

Cheers

Peter

Last edited:
PeterDove said:
Hi All,

Electronics newbie here again...well I know a little more now mostly down to audioguru :)

Can anyone tell me what chip would be best to use to amplify/boost a TV signal as our reception isnt brilliant... I want to make my own :)

Buy one! - they generally don't use chips, and layout is absolutely critical!. They cost very little, and you're going to spend lots more attempting to build one.

Nigel Goodwin said:
Buy one! - they generally don't use chips, and layout is absolutely critical!. They cost very little, and you're going to spend lots more attempting to build one.

Actually the purpose is two-fold - I want to learn about signal amplification AND solve a few problems I have.

I have made a Cat5 to video convertor but I also want to learn how I can amplify the video signal too. I thought TV signals might be similar so I thought it would be a cool way to learn about it.

I have found some info on monolithic amplifier chips from

**broken link removed**