1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

Boost 150mV to 1.5V

Discussion in 'Electronic Projects Design/Ideas/Reviews' started by Nursyukriah Idris, Mar 24, 2016.

  1. Nursyukriah Idris

    Nursyukriah Idris New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Likes:
    0
    Hi.. can anyone help me to design a boost converter with low power application. The input voltage is too small which is 0.15 V. I want to use boost converter to step up that voltage to be 1.5 V. It is suitable to use boost converter to boost up that smallest input voltage?
     
  2. ronsimpson

    ronsimpson Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,366
    Likes:
    973
    Location:
    Loveland, CO USA
    ONLINE
    I do not know of a way to boost 0.15 volts because most electronics do not work at that level.

    Where are you getting the 0.15V?
     
  3. Nursyukriah Idris

    Nursyukriah Idris New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Likes:
    0
    0.15 V from the output of Existing Micro - Savonius Vertical Axis Wind Turbine (VAWT).

    Actually, I'm doing a final project on "IMPLEMENTATION OF BOOST CONVERTER TO THE EXISTING MICRO - SAVONIUS VERTICAL AXIS WIND TURBINE (VAWT)".

    I set the output from the Existing Micro - Savonius (VAWT) as the input of boost converter and then the considered load is Miniature Light Bulb which has voltage and current of 1.5 V and 0.3 A respectively.
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. Nursyukriah Idris

    Nursyukriah Idris New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Likes:
    0

    The attach file is my slide presentation about the project.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Les Jones

    Les Jones Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Messages:
    1,474
    Likes:
    191
    Location:
    Lancashire UK
    What you are trying to achieve is impossible. Your input is 0.15 volts at 0.03 amps ( 0.0045 watts) You are asking for an output of 1.5 volts at 0.3 amps (0.45 watts) so you are asking for 100 time more power out of the converter than you are putting into it. (10000% efficiency)

    Les.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  7. Nursyukriah Idris

    Nursyukriah Idris New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Likes:
    0
    I'm stuck now :(. I've no ideas to overcome this problem.

    But, I found one article on 'Issues with Low-Input-Voltage Boost Converter Design'. This article proposed a startup technique that works for arbitrarily low input voltages.

    It is okay if I try this technique in my project?
     
  8. Nursyukriah Idris

    Nursyukriah Idris New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Likes:
    0
    The attach file is an article on 'Issues with Low-Input-Voltage Boost Converter Design'
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Nursyukriah Idris

    Nursyukriah Idris New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Likes:
    0
    The attach file is startup circuit.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. JimB

    JimB Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Messages:
    6,391
    Likes:
    592
    Location:
    Peterhead, Scotland
    ONLINE
    Exactly.
    After all that work, you failed to perform the simplest evaluation of the energy available from the generator.
    As Les Jones has already stated "This is impossible", you need more power from the generator.
    What will be the point? I will not magic up energy from nowhere. You need mor power from the generator.

    JimB
     
    • Like Like x 2
  11. Nursyukriah Idris

    Nursyukriah Idris New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Likes:
    0
    Is there any suggestions regarding to this problem?
     
  12. Nursyukriah Idris

    Nursyukriah Idris New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Likes:
    0
    It is okay if I change a generator from the Existing Micro - Savonius Vertical Axis Wind Turbine (VAWT) to high power of generator?
     
  13. ronsimpson

    ronsimpson Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,366
    Likes:
    973
    Location:
    Loveland, CO USA
    ONLINE
    Please do. Now what is the voltage and current.
    If you need 0.45 watts out after the, boost up circuit, you probably need a 0.55 watt generator.
     
  14. DerStrom8

    DerStrom8 Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5,514
    Likes:
    507
    Location:
    Vermont (GMT-5:00)
    Do you have control over the air speed hitting the turbine? Is the turbine separate from the generator? Can you use a gearing mechanism to increase the speed of the generator shaft?

    Your best bet would definitely be to get a better generator.
     
  15. MikeMl

    MikeMl Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    11,136
    Likes:
    565
    Location:
    AZ 86334
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  16. Nursyukriah Idris

    Nursyukriah Idris New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Likes:
    0
    Actually, the Existing Micro - Savonius Vertical Axis Wind Turbine (VAWT) was connected to DC motor not a generator.

    The wind blow from the air compressor of air conditioner as a source to rotate the blade of the Existing Micro - Savonius Vertical Axis Wind Turbine (VAWT).
    The rotor blade was connected to the DC motor. Since the rotor blade was connected to the DC motor, so the output was Direct Current (DC).

    Then, I measure voltage and current at the terminal of DC motor.
     
  17. DerStrom8

    DerStrom8 Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5,514
    Likes:
    507
    Location:
    Vermont (GMT-5:00)
    That doesn't really answer any of the questions asked....
     
  18. throbscottle

    throbscottle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,808
    Likes:
    113
    Location:
    Nuneaton, Warwickshire, UK
    DC motors make notoriously bad generators. You really need something better. If you can get (or even build) an alternator, you can use a transformer to increase the voltage.
     
  19. throbscottle

    throbscottle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,808
    Likes:
    113
    Location:
    Nuneaton, Warwickshire, UK
    Clever. I wonder if it can actually be made to work with such a low input?
     
  20. bountyhunter

    bountyhunter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,560
    Likes:
    81
    My boss hated when I told him that. But I was right when I said it, and it is also true for this case.
     
  21. audioguru

    audioguru Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    32,583
    Likes:
    950
    Location:
    Canada, of course!
    The windmill (air turbine) is too small to produce 0.55W of power since it produces only 0.0045W or power.
     

Share This Page