Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Book suggestion, basic electronics

Status
Not open for further replies.

edeca

I'm trying to get back into electronics. I studied it for a few years but we mainly focused on microcontrollers. The test boards were made for us and we just had to program them.. or connect together a few LEDs. I am fine with assembly language and can understand some parts of component datasheets, it is the basics that let me down.

I'd like to start to develop circuits of my own. I am mainly interested in PIC based designs and have a Junebug coming to start this off.

So can anybody recommend a book that covers:

- explanation and basic theory of components from resistors and capacitors to more complex designs (fancy transistors, power circuits etc)
- example circuits to try, they don't have to be practical (e.g. 'doorbell sounder') but instead explanatory (e.g. 'function of component X')
- entertaining enough that I'll enjoy studying it
- not too in-depth.. I don't want to read 10 chapters about how to design my own semicondutors ;)

I've looked on Amazon but recommendations would be much better. Until then, it's EPE and elektor.