Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Bipolar Voltage Divider

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tucson Annie

Hi Guys,

This isn't really a homework question, but it's close enough to fit this category :) I'm studying DC Series-Parallel analysis and have a voltage divider circuit with loads attached. Now, if that's all it was, I can figure it out using the 10 percent bleeder current rule....(I was taught to add the load currents and multiply them by 10 percent to find the bleeder current and then add the bleeder current to the load current to get the total current).

But due to the placement of the reference in this diagram, I'm thrown for a loop so to speak. I am not sure how to go about solving the circuit because of it.....here is the schematic:

**broken link removed**

Now, I'm not supposed to use mesh or nodal or Thevinen methods yet so anyway, any help will be greatly appreciated! As I say, if it wasn't for the position of the ground reference I'd know how to do this....

Annie :)

Here's how I'd do it:

Calculate the value of R1 for a voltage drop of 3V with a current of 23.53mA using Ohm's law.

Work out the resistance of Load A and B.

Work out the required potential divider ratio.

I'd probably remove R2 and use the value of Load A as the top resistor (comprising of R3 and load B).

Rearranging the potential divider formula, I'd calculate the required value for the lower resistor