Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

bidirectional 9v DC motor controller

Status
Not open for further replies.

chaminda

I'm a complete newbie to electronics so need a lot of help

I want to control a car DVD player screen - its a motorised screen which slides out (see pic).
Its run by a 9v motor (ff-180sh-14240)> not sure of the current it drags. Tested it with a 9v battery and works fine

So what I want to do is:
There are 2 switches (microswitch) to detect when the screen is its neutral position (i,e fully verticall) and one when it fully folded out.

1. There one button to control the screen i.e motor.
initially the screen is in its neutral position i,e fully vertical
2. If i press it for a short period of time the screen moved a bit out (i.e the motor rotates a small amount). I can repeat this till i get the screen to a position i like or maximum open position
or If I hold down the same button for a longer period of time (lets say 3 seconds) the screen slides out to its fully open position.
4. This position is detected by a microswitch which switches on. This allows the motor to move in the reverse direction when the button is pressed again -->
4. While in the position if i press the button again the screen moves back completely to its vertical (neutral) position.i.e the motor moves in reverse. It know its at the neutral position as it switches on a different switch

heres a pic of the screen positions.