Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Best way to start making PCB's

Status
Not open for further replies.

danrogers

Hi all, Im fairly new to electronics and circuit design but I would like to build some PCB's. Starting with a simple design for some RGB led arrays.

I have no idea where to start, and dont have any experience with CAD software either so it would be great if someone could explain the best way to start out.

Thanks for reading

Thanks Boncuk! Going to have a read through now :)

So I guess that covers the design aspect but what about the physical production of boards? Ive noticed some bits for etching i think they call it in Maplins but I have no idea how to use or what exactly to use?

Cheers

There's two popular methods. Toner Transfer, which is where the design is laser printed to a compatible photo paper and ironed on, then etched. Then there's the photo method where the design is printed to clear plastic and the board is exposed to UV light. You'll need specific boards and developer for this.

Both methods are talked about extensively on this forum if you search for those keywords. Also there are a bunch of tutorials/instructables and discussions on both if you google them.