Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Beginners question

Status
Not open for further replies.

cob

Hi,
This looks like a great forum. I am just getting started and have a very basic question. I understand that the flow in a circuit goes from + to - but in looking at the following basic schematic I'm wondering why there is no current flow (per the arrows in the schematic) from points 2 to 7 and 3 to 6. Given the rule that the current will follow the path of least resistance I suppose that because resistors 1 and 2 sit on the path from points 2 to 7 and 3 to 6 respectively then the current doesn't flow down those paths. Am I correct in assuming that? So, for example, without resistor 1 the flow could go from point 8 to 7 to 6 to 3 to 2 then to 1 or 7 again. But if this is the case why does the schematic show current from 8 to 7 to 2 to 1 i.e. up through resistor 1? Thanks in advance.

**broken link removed**

Last edited:
The circuit you have drawn is purely a resistive circuit and you have shown arrows according to electron flow. Electrons flow from negative to positive and conventional current flows from positive to negative. Normally a simple circuit such as this is expressed as conventional current flow and the arrows are reverse to the direction shown above.
You must say "I understand that conventional current flow is positive to negative or electron flow is from negative to positive."
The diagram does show electron flow from 7 to 2 and 6 to 3.