Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

beginner to programming microcontrollers

Status
Not open for further replies.

notwist

I am new to this microcontroller programming thing. For my design, i need to program the microcontroller (Atmel Atmega) to control a RF transceiver (XE1230F). The device is an active RFID reader, capable of transmitting and receiving signals from separate transponders. I was unable to find any guides about it online but I did find one for the same transceiver but a different uC. Basically, what are just some general tips in beginning uC programming? I've read the datasheets (which may take a couple more readings to soak up the information) but how do I know if a certain microprocessor will work for a given application? Also, what I be able to use a regular PIC microcontroller instead of the Atmel? Right now I have access to a PC capable of programming a PIC but not the Atmel model uC's. I hope I was not too vague but will put down more info if need be.

Thanks!

we had originally planned to use the Semtech XE12304F RF transceiver and the Atmel ATMega microprocessor for our design but the rfPIC looks like a better option.

I will read more about this model chip and post here if I have further questions. THanks!

Hmm, after further reading about it, it seems it lacks RSSI (received signal strength indication) feature.

So about the XE1203F. Will it work with a PIC uC? How can i determine if it will?