Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Beginner looking for a little help.

Status
Not open for further replies.

jhogge

Hello everyone. I know that a first post asking for help to this extent is not the best way to start things off, but I am experiencing information overload when trying to find the appropriate components for a project I am trying to get started on for my Harley.

Let me preface this by saying, I am a software guy by trade and hobby. The hardware world is new and exciting to me.

I am interested in designing an LED board which will allow me to individually address 36 RBG LEDs, allow 1mb of sd-card pattern storage.

These are the LED's I have been looking at purchasing:
LED - RGB Super Flux [RGB] - $1.00 : FunGizmos, make something fun!

All of the other components are unknown to me right now. Every time I think I have it figured out regarding what I need, I come across something else that points me in a completely different direction.

I'm not looking for someone to design this for me, rather I need some input into where to look and/or what you would buy if it were your project.

Last edited:
Exactly what are you planning to accomplish?
The smarties here will know what you need if they understand the project.

The goal is to create an RGB LED controller to handle 36 LED's.
The LEDs will not be in a matrix, cube, or strip configuration. Each LED will be placed at separate points on the bike.