Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

battery powered low voltage amplifier

Status
Not open for further replies.

mark.arkinstall

I would like to build a battery powered low voltage amplifier but don't know where to find a suitable circuit.

The purpose of the amp is as follows. As a structural engineer i need to measure building vibration. I have an accelerometer and a analog to digital converter which has a +/-10V range, that powers up and transfers data to my laptop via USB. Sometimes the signial from the accelerometer is so low that it needs to be amplified so i can take advantage of the full +/- 10V range . The battery is for mobility on site. I am envisaging a rechargeable battery.

As building vibration occurs at low frequency the amp needs to operate down at frequencies as low as 0.2Hz.

Ideally the amp would have low noise, and multiple preset gain settings to chose from.

I would appreciate any help at all. I did electronics at school for 3 years so i have some familiarity with the jargon.

thanks in advance
Mark

Probably the easiest way to power it is two 12V batteries, giving a +/-12V supply rail. You can then use a simple opamp circuit, DC coupled (so no problems with low frequencies) and switchable gain.

What sort of gain do you require?.

Have a look at for some help with opamps, however DON'T use a 741 - it's a seriously old lo-spec antique, use a slightly more modern device like the Texas TL071 or TL081.

Thank you Nigel I shall take a look.