Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Battery-Operated Polygon Motor

Status
Not open for further replies.

907tec

Hello all, thanks for reading.

I am very new to electrical engineering/component level repair, so your patience is appreciated. That being said, I have kind of a crazy project in mind: I want to take the Rotating Polygon Mirror assembly from an old laser printer/copier and convert it to run off battery power, as well as adapt to new light sources. The naming convention on the motor resembles that of newer models made by Panasonic, though i can find no listing for the one in question. The back of the motor plate identifies it as "11K1208 1K0000B MASQ8SF3LL 35750rpm 1520NA Made in Japan". A very similar, but newer, motor can be seen at (https://industrial.panasonic.com/www-cgi/jvcr13pz.cgi?E+MT+2+AHA1002+0+4+WW)
The motor is solid mounted on a metal plate, with a circuit board glued ontop. The board with the motor attached is further connected via flat ribbon cable (14 pin) to a board labeled as "Panasonic FLEGA3427" which I am assuming controls the incoming power and distributes it properly to the motor board.

Unfortunately, I have been unable to find schematics for the motor board and control board. What I do know is that the power supplied to the board is 24v dc, with either 2 or 3 24v dc return lines. There are various other pins (reFREQ, Lock, Start) in the 6-pin connector. Optimistically naive, I was hoping to simply spin the mirror with a 24v battery source.