Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

battery for mini solar panel

Status
Not open for further replies.

Egg_

Im trying to build a tiny solar charged energy source. Im a beginner at electronics so i need some help choosing batteries. Im only planning to spend a small amount of money so i figured i could use six 6v 250mah panels i found for really cheap(3s2p).So Im thinking of either building a 3s3p liion pack with the 3000mah 10c batteries i found (4$ each) or using 12v 7000mah dry akkumulator. Theres also these lifepo4 batteries with 6000mah 3c for around the same price but i cant really find any good bms for that voltage. What should i do? As i said i am a beginner with electronics and kinda know it would be inefficent to have solar in this price range but think it could be a cool thing to have.

Last edited:
To avoid an explosion and fire you need a Lithium battery charger IC, set to match the recommended battery voltage and current. A cheap BMS is a protection circuit, usually with 25A current (!), not a charger circuit.

For lithium cells, you need a protection IC or board (the "BMS board on ebay etc), plus, for series connected cells, that must include a "balance" function to maintain the cells all at equal voltage.

Then you need a charge controller set for the correct battery voltage and current limit.