Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Battery Backup for a microcontroller

Status
Not open for further replies.

subaruboy

Hey guys,

First off, this is my first time posting so I hope I'm not in the wrong area.

Now the quesiton:

I need to provide battery backup for a micro controller and I'm having a brain fart.

The power input can accept voltages from 6 to 18V (it has an internal regulator)... currently it's recieving 9 volts that's being regulated off of a 24V supply. Not the most efficient way of doing things but I'm working with what I've got.

Anyhow, the controller is going to be installed in an environment that's going to experience frequent blackouts and I want to have battery backup for it. I'm using an analog IO pin on the controller to sense the supply voltage so when the power goes out the controller goes into low power mode. But I need to connect a battery to the same voltage input that the 9v is going in

I was thinking I could just put diodes on the positive terminals of the 9V regulator output and a 7.2V battery I have, and that would provide a constant source of power for the controller without having to worry about issues due to voltage sources in parallel.

Can I use this simple implementation for battery backup for the controller? I simulated it on PSpice and the circuit reacted as I expected. I just want to be sure.

Thanks for the help all, I look forward to poking around this forum and taking part in the discussions.