Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

basics of 8051 microcontroller

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi

What microcontroller should I use to design a maximum power tracker? I have some experience with 8051 as is witnessed by this thread but have forgotten almost all the stuff. I was thinking of using PIC 16F877 but after reading Jon Wilder post above, I thought it would be a good idea to explore an alternative. I want to base the code on this flowchart. The block diagram of the system looks like this. You might also find this block diagram useful. Thank you.

Regards
PG

Attachments

• 798361.fig.002.jpg
    798361.fig.002.jpg
    31.8 KB · Views: 904
Last edited:
I have an excellent 8051 simulator! with lcd's and all sorts, but its on the broken laptop!!! let me try and hunt around the net for it! its really ace

It does some ATMEL chips as well, but when you start a new project it gives you a drop down box, just select 8051.
For C it uses SDCC compiler, its actually a IDE but has a simulator in it with loads of goodies
http://mcu8051ide.sourceforge.net/intro

Forgot to add it does ASM as well, you get keypads and led matrix, all sorts and works really well, I was going to use it to learn 8051 but I kind of jumped straight into hardware instead :rolleyes:. I have downloaded it again though :D