Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Automated shutter

Status
Not open for further replies.

stk2008

Hi all as you can tell I am new here.

I have little electronic experience though my mechanical skills are very good.
I have dabbled with electronics and really enjoy it. I have a project on the go at the moment but have hit a wall.

What I want to do is make a box that will have a perspex window that when I press a button it will lower then when I press it again it will raise back to its original position.

I was going to use a PC CD drive it would work great if it had a little more power but it don't so it struggles to lift it and then hold it in position. I would like this device to work from 12v or 5v as it will be ran off a PC power supply.

Please help in building and designing as I have no idea how or where to start now.

P.S

Must be cheap to build and safe as the power supply will not be turned off.

Thanks in advance

D.Roberts

Your CD tray mechanism is good approach. If it works, just add a counterweight and it will have little or no effort to lift it.

Last edited:
Hi there thanks for the very fast reply :)

The cd drive I have is old and not strong at all I could get hold of a few old ones and use the most powerful one then use the counter weight idea (great idea btw).
I may look into this and then test the counter weight idea.

But lets say I wanted to build some thing how on earth would I and what components would you use.

Thanks again

Last edited: