Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Automated Noise Floor Correction Facility (for use in club environment)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ridi_Ree

Hello fellow electricians,
Im a student studying in my third year in the south of england, for my third year project im designing a filtering/weighting network capable of taking a reference feed from the surrounding environment (dBspl) in a club atmosphere and comparing it with an inverse feed from the sound desk or what ever device that the music is playing out of.

If you could aid me in anyway as for the design elements (esp filter knowledge), i would appreciate this very much.

Little Background: Using a Op Amp Comparator with feeds from the reference and the background level (only using one mic for the prototype) with an averaging RMS detector, overload limiter,weighting network

Thnk u

Ridi Ree

Last edited:
Years ago I used a similar system made by Altec.
It sensed the noise at an airport and adjusted the level of the paging.
It turned off the sensing during paging.

Maybe using a computer, the microphone, and SONY's sound forge (specificaly the included noise floor tool), you can make some kind of interface between all these components (via software)

I was going to refer to that in my recomendations at the end of the document, that it can be used in other circumstances, such as train stations/airports and in motor vehicles