Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Automated Light Controller

Status
Not open for further replies.

arien

Hello. I’m a student currently taking up electronics engineering course, we have this electronic design subject and we have proposed an automatic light control system as our design. The system is supposed to be implemented inside rest rooms. I just want to ask, is it true that turning on and turning off lights very often will decrease the life span of light? It would be a great help if you would give me any suggestion/s, comment/s and any related literature/s regarding this matter, it will surely help us in our defense. Thanks a lot. :)

arien said:
Hello. I’m a student currently taking up electronics engineering course, we have this electronic design subject and we have proposed an automatic light control system as our design. The system is supposed to be implemented inside rest rooms. I just want to ask, is it true that turning on and turning off lights very often will decrease the life span of light? It would be a great help if you would give me any suggestion/s, comment/s and any related literature/s regarding this matter, it will surely help us in our defense. Thanks a lot. :)

Hi,
A recent 'Myth Busters' TV program carried out tests on various lighting systems and the conclusion was that constant switching shortened the life
of a lamp by such a small fraction that it was not significant.