Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Author here, need help "building" a fictional long-range radio transmitter

Status
Not open for further replies.

RJAWriter

Hi --

I'm a professional author working on a contemporary SF novel with a heroine who is an electronics and engineering whiz, and she needs to build a radio transmitter capable of sending a signal some distance into space (say, 2 billion miles). She's limited by budget constraints, so she can't afford expensive pre-fab equipment, but she is capable of building just about anything she needs from scratch.

This is all being done in secret over the course of the book, and she's only going to need to transmit the signal for a few seconds, so I'm not worrying about the legality of it, the need for a radio license, etc. She just needs to send a command to another device in space to tell it to perform a simple command (i.e. turn itself off).

For the record, the book is set in the present day and on Earth, so ideally I want my heroine to use real, existing materials and equipment in order to build her radio transmitter. That being said, she is a genius so she could potentially come up with a Tesla-like stroke of genius to do something nobody has done before, but I'd like what she's building to be at least theoretically possible.