Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

AudioVox Bag Phone — Bluetooth capable Project

apexsilvergsr

Hello, I’m new to the forum and to start off, and I’m an electrician with not a whole ton of experience with the nitty gritty electrical components that I will be working with.
FB237360-B487-4180-9F5F-B2C8478D5524.jpeg

This is my newly acquired AudioVox bag phone. Model BC-65 TRAN series.

Let me begin with this, I saw a similar post by UselessPickles who has put a lot of effort into making his 3000GT a real time piece, and I really appreciate seeing the effort he put into making his factory DiamondTel handset into a fully functional piece, which to me adds just that piece of authenticity you will probably see once in a lifetime. I started getting into old phone tech recently, but have been a long-time car enthusiast and would totally love to have a functioning car phone.

I purchased this handset because my ‘85 Mercedes has the same model Bell-Atlantic phone still installed and working (not the making calls part). It would be easier to figure out one phone so I can copy what I have figured out to the other phone.

I added a few pics to help understand.

So far, I’m at the stage where I have the bluetooth module that UselessPickles has got, along with the RJ45 breakout. I have identified the power/ground and now attempting to see any similarities between the DiamondTel handset and the AudioVox.