Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Audio Switch Interference

Status
Not open for further replies.

redart

Hi All,
I have a switching circuit that I'm using to compare two audio amplifiers. The circuit comes courtesy of Elliott Sound Products.
My problem is that when the relays (K1 & K2) energised / de-energise, there is an annoying click that comes thru the speakers. It's especially bad when passing a 100Hz test signal.
Being an electronics newbie I know very little about curing this type of (RF?) interference. I've tried adding bypass caps between power and ground (0.1uF to 47uF) with little or no effect. Do I need an RF choke?. If so can I make one?. Power is 12V DC.
Any suggestions on how to filter this click out would be much appreciated.

Attachments

• absw-f1.gif
    absw-f1.gif
    3.4 KB · Views: 431
You are switching the signal when its voltage is not at zero, hence the pop.
Quiet switching involves using a circuit that ramps the audio down before switching then back up after switching. Another quiet switch circuit waits for the audio signal to reach a "zero crossing" then switches extremely quickly while the signal voltage is still zero.

There isn't much you can do with slow relays.

where is this switch located, on the inputs to the amps, or on the outputs to the speakers?