Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Audio Spectrum Analyzer using FFT

Status
Not open for further replies.

joeden

Hi, I'm new to the forum and I'm looking for help....I'm a beginner in electronics/microcontrollers and have always wanted to build my own Audio Graphic display, using lots of led's, probably 10-bands with 10 led's per band. I've found lots of info and source code on FFT's. I'm using a NEC uPD78F0034 8Mhz microcontroller and just wanted to know about the analogue sampling, how many samples, what resolution I should use etc. will 8Mhz be fast enough to do the sampling and FFT's. Is there any guideline projects already out there.

Thanks in advance,
Joe

Don't know how much is the Machine Cycle of uPD78F0034 but standard 8051 (12 clock) running at 12MHz take 5 second to do 128 point DHFT (Discrete Fast Hartley Transform). FFT is still slower I think.

You need a real fast uC for spectrum analyzer. Using DSP will be better.