Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Audio High/Low pass filter components.

Status
Not open for further replies.

shred101

Can someone tell me in plain english what components I would need for a combined variable high / low pass filter? Im a musician/producer and I use so many of these effects that it just turns into either a waste of desk power/effects units or bass eq bands.
Every time I ask this on audio forums I just get a crapload of math that I dont understand thrown at me and to be honest theres no way its that complicated because wikipedia implies that I just need a capacitor/resistor and a potentiometers for a simple circuit. I just need to know which ones. Theres no way im building and using this thing until im 100% sure of components.
So basically the idea is for a box with 1/4 input jack socket, a circuit that shears off all bass below the point dictated by what the bass potentiometer is set to and all treble above the point dictated by what the treble potentiometer is set to and then a 1/4 inch output jack socket. Can someone advise me on the values for the pots, capacitors, etc. for this please?
Thanks.

You fail to understand what it's all about - what you actually asked for is impossible - and I'm sure even a Wikipedia article doesn't say otherwise. To do 'nearly' what you actually asked would be quite complicated, not as simple as you're imagining.