Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Audio A/B switch with self-power

Status
Not open for further replies.

danickstr

Hello all. I am an electrical contractor and was wondering if anyone knew of a means by which it would be possible to have an auto-sensing A/B switch that could use the signal line voltage to make the switch relay open the B path if it sensed a signal? Ultimately then I would like it to be on a dongle with a Y-cord type of shape, the dongle being in the middle and not too fat. My purpose for this would be to send audio out of the DVD to the in-house speakers when someone watches a DVD and otherwise to have it send audio from the satellite box.

My reason for not using other boxes on the market is that they are bulky and require a "wall wart" and it seems that the switch transistor would need so little power to open the B path and close A.

Attachments

• dongle_a.gif
    dongle_a.gif
    1.8 KB · Views: 346
Not sure if this helps or not, but many higher end surround sound receivers will do this for you already. They will sense which input is active and select this as the source signal to amplify. Generally what they do is select the highest quality signal available for a given type of device and use that input. You can use this feature to "trick" the receiver into auto selelcting a source for you.