Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Attaching mechanical animations to a quartz clock movement

Status
Not open for further replies.

8botz

I am a newbie and am fired up to learn how to create simple motorized mechanisms and sounds that are attached to a quartz clock movement. I would like to trigger the mechanisms per hour, half hour, etc.

Can anyone help point me in the right direction? Books or kits? Parts to use etc.?

Thanks a bunch in advance and I will update you all with my progress!

More questions then answers.

8botz said:
I am a newbie and am fired up to learn how to create simple motorized mechanisms and sounds that are attached to a quartz clock movement. I would like to trigger the mechanisms per hour, half hour, etc.
Does the quartz clock movement does not have enough power to drive anything mechanical ?

Does it have any outputs/alarms that you could use to trigger/start circuits that drive motors ?

If you must use a clock movement you will need to detect the hand position(s) using some soft of frictionless switch(s).

Can you scrap the clock movement and use a microcontroller (with a crystal) to keep the time, start the gadgets, and move the clock hands?