Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Atomic caesium clocks

Status
Not open for further replies.

LeThalois

Hello,

I am a junior researcher in electronics (novice, beginner :eek: ;) ). I intend to assure training for an engineer during his Final Project Study which lasts 3 months. The subject on which we plan to work is "atomic clock".

Can you suggest a topic in which we can use technology of embedded systems (especially STM32, FPGA, DSP) of course with keeping link with the main subject "atomic clock".

Thank you, in advance for your help which will be, without a doubt, valuable to me.

I dont really know what you mean by that.
The devices you mention with the exception of fpga's are pretty indepth, not for a noob or entry level studying.

Do you want to build an atomic clock?, caesium time standards are complex and expensive, you can however get used rubidium clock standards off ebay for little money.

There's heaps of rubidium standard on ebay for sure, but all are used, and like all the used xtal ovens they are all likely suspect in accuracy or stability. I've seen a few complaints in people's blogs.

To the OP; why not use GPS for a time standard? All the GPS satellites have excellent atomic clocks onboard and you can access them for free, with a $30 GPS receiver. Maybe your subject matter could be adapted from "atomic clock" to "GPS disciplined clock"?