Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

atmega3216pi programming

Status
Not open for further replies.

mab2

hello,

I'm new to arduino, so sorry if this is a silly question:

i've been given an atmega3216pi on veroboard with a um232r USB to serial adaptor, and was thinking of re-using it.

I thought that I could connect it to a PC, like an Arduino board and program it via USB using Arduino.exe, but having looked into it a bit, I'm not so sure.

Do I need an actual programmer if I want to erase & re-program it? Is there a cheap programmer out there?

Or should I just buy a new Arduino board which works via USB (which seem cheaper than the programmers I've seen) and presumably incorporates a programmer?

thanks

You can use it like an Arduino if the chip has "arduino-compatible" bootloader in it. Easiest way to find out is to try! If it does not work like Arduino, then you need a programmer.

EDIT: I don't actually know if atmega32 is supported by arduino software/bootloader..

Aha, well, I did try, but I'm not sure if it didn't work because it can't, or because I'm just doing something wrong;

installed the driver for the usb/serial - assigned to com4,
picked the 'blink' program from the examples\basics,
i couldn't find atmega3216 in the tools\boards menu so I picked "arduino pro or mini (5v,16MHz)w/ atmega328"
didn't know what to pick for tools\programmer either, so left it on the default (AVRISP MkII).

then tried to upload, and got the following: