Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[Ask] PPI8255 or Serial?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tumpal H.S

hallo...

As a newbie i want to ask about the easiest or better way to establish communication between mainboard PC with Microcontroller?using PPI8255 or Serial?

and if you don't mind can you explain it tu me?

Thx.....:D

Use serial. It uses a lot less wires.

PCs usually have RS232 ports. You need a MAX232 or similar to convert voltage levels from the +/-12V of RS232 to 0 - 5 of a microcontroller.

Chose a microcontroller with a EUSART.

You can use a terminal emulator to send what you type to the serial port, and put on screen what arrives from the serial port.

But if i want to use 2 microcontrollers ( DT-AVR 8535 ) and RS232 port from PC, what device should added between them ( mainboard PC can communicate with 2 mircocontrollers separately ) ?
And what are the different between RS232 and RS485? advantage and disadvantege between them?

Use a MAX232 or similar, or (with a PIC, and using a software UART) you can use just a single resistor.

It's really extremely easy to do RS232, in either hardware or software - there are PIC examples in my tutorials.

But if i want to use 2 microcontrollers ( DT-AVR 8535 ) and RS232 port from PC, what device should added between them ( mainboard PC can communicate with 2 mircocontrollers separately ) ?
And what are the different between RS232 and RS485? advantage and disadvantege between them?