Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Another ATX PSU to benchtop supply conversion

Status
Not open for further replies.

triacontahedron

Hi,

I am new to the electronics design and need a benchtop power supply so I decided to
convert one of my ATX ones. I have looked around for conversion schematics etc. but
did not find one that fully implemented all my ideas about such conversion kit. Basically
I would like to have:

1. Ability to plug in any ATX PSU without drilling holes or soldering.
2. Outputs for all voltages: 12, 5 , 3.3.
3. Fuse protected outputs so my project wont go up in flames on my table.
4. Switches on all outputs, no need to plug unplug stuff.
5. Build in USB charger for all gadgets that I have.
6. Use PCB as front panel, no need to mess with a bunch of wires.
7. Low cost, variable voltage output, measurement circuit etc. will be placed on
a separate PCB and it is a completely different story.

So after spending a few hours in KiCad I came up with the attached schematic.
I would appreciate any input on it or proposal of features that can be added and
might be useful in a benchtop psu.

Thanks

Have you tried using the PWR_OK signal to drive a LED yet? If I look at the PSU design specification I see the following:

Signal Type +5 V TTL compatible

Logic level low < 0.4 V while sinking 4 mA

Logic level high Between 2.4 V and 5 V output while sourcing 200 μA

High-state output impedance 1 kΩ from output to common

However, I also found this: