Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Amperes

Status
Not open for further replies.

nOOb

First post here, I'm kind of new to electronics.

I would like to know what the amperes mean on a power supply? Let's say 12V 1Amp

Does it mean the power supply "spits" out 1Amp???
or the power supply requires 1Amp to work?

Try Google or Wikipedia before asking questions
Ampere - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Power generally supply voltage, but are only rated for so much current, if you try to draw more current than they can supply the voltage will drop, this can be bad for both the power supply and the load. The resistance of the load and the applied voltage will determine the actual current the load needs, in the real world with motors and active circuitry this resistance becomes a complex impedance which changes for various reasons and under various conditions.

Last edited:
That amperage is the maximum output current, not the operating current. The power supply can deliver anything from 0 Amp up to the maximum (in this case 1 Amp) as determined by the load resistance at 12V.

So basically I could use a 12V @ 15A supply and there wouldn't be any problems? but 12V @ 500mA could cause some problems? Let's say if the device needs 1A

Don't overload a power supply that is rated for only 0.5A but the overload is 1A. It might properly limit the current, catch on fire or blow an internal fuse.