Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

alarm

Status
Not open for further replies.

tonydepo

Any ideas on how to create a device in which no motion (any direction) happens during 10 minutes an alarm would go off? I would like it to run on a watch battery too, small components. I am a total noob, but want to work on a little project.

Thanks for your help

-Tony *da noob

it can be done by a timer a counter a photo resistor (photo diode)..

Can you point me to how to hook these components up using a small watch battery? Where can I buy these components too.

Thanks for your help.

I don't see this happening using a watch battery and here is why. You don't mention any particular battery but as an example we can select one at random. The V364 for example is a 1.55 volt 20 mAH battery. Very typical watch battery.

To get what you want first consider the parts needed. The first part being a sensor to detect movement, a PIR (Passive Infrared Sensor) sensor would be a good start. This unit is an example of a PIR sensor.

This unit works great from 5 to 12V (datasheet shows 12V). You can also install a jumper wire past the 5V regulator on board to make this unit work at 3.3V. Sensor uses 1.6mA@3.3V.

The alarm pin is an open collector meaning you will need a pull up resistor on the alarm pin. The open drain setup allows multiple motion sensors to be connected on a single input pin. If any of the motion sensors go off, the input pin will be pulled low.