Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Advice required for analog drum synth.

Status
Not open for further replies.

pizzatime

Hi,
I'm really new to electronics and such but have jumped in a few steps further down the road then I probably should of and bought a QuadBass++ analog drum synth PCB off electro-music.com. I've got music studio kit but none of it is DIY but want to start using analog DIY bits and pieces..
Have soldered a simple synth kit previously.
My question is ( and it would be much appreciated if someone could give me some advice as I'm going round in circles reading up on the net) about the power supply.
I thought I could just build this thing up as it's bought as a kit with all the bits but I've found out it runs off a dual regulated + / - 15v supply of which nothing is really mentioned. Was then recommended a kit from America for about $40 but I'm in the UK so that's not ideal and I'm too inexperienced to mess about with 240v into this thing I and there's big warnings on the site saying 'DANGER! - experienced builders only kit!' etc as expected.
Pre built ones seem really expensive.
Someone has altered certain parts of his QuadBass++ to run off 2 x 9v batteries and he says this would give me up to 10 hours of use.. sounds good but this would cost me a fortune in batteries the way I work..
Is it possible to cheaply build a + / - supply kit but then power it from a bought cheapo adaptor so I'm not actually using mains power just the adapters output of 9v or whatever?