Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Adressable LED connections and luminosity difficulties + portable design questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

gotchock

Hello, total newbie here in DIY electronics (but engineer), sorry if missed an existing answer on the forum:

I'm working on a wearable light project involving 11 adressable LED strips (WS2812b / 30cm per strip) connected in parallel to a controller powered by 1 lithium battery (18650) in 5V through a booster/charger chip (see enclosed picture). All the power/control is attached to a stick hand-held (compact design).

I have several questions on which i struggle to find a solution, and i think maybe someone with more experience can help me ? I don't really know where to look for answers, it's pretty specific...
  1. I'm using 144 LED/m WS2812b strip to show a continuous line of light instead of spaced out dots (every strip is short), but at the cost of increased power consumption and harder soldering on smaller connectors. Is there a way to obtain a "light line" effect with less LED like a diffuser or different LED technology ?