Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

adjustable power supply circuit help

Status
Not open for further replies.

aruna1

Hi
I want to build a adjustable power supply system that can adjust output voltage using a pwm channel of a micro-controller.

output requirement is 0-15v and about maximum 3A.
and should be a linear regulator (as I'm still learning switching regulators and have no good idea about them)

basic idea is adjust the output by varying pulse width and feedback output voltage to the same micro-controller to keep output constant.

Any idea how to achieve this? any regulator IC I can use for this?

thank you

One problem I see is that if you start with PWM, there will always be some residual feedthrough of the PWM frequency into the control loop of the linear regulator. Depending on what you are using the supply for, this could be a problem.

You will probably have to filter the PWMed control voltage very aggressively.

If you want to control the supply's voltage from a uC, why not get a $2 serial DAC and use that to control the linear regulator's loop?

One problem I see is that if you start with PWM, there will always be some residual feedthrough of the PWM frequency into the control loop of the linear regulator. Depending on what you are using the supply for, this could be a problem.

You will probably have to filter the PWMed control voltage very aggressively.