Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

adding sim card reader to car stereo?

Status
Not open for further replies.

pippen429

hi everyone.

i am an apprentice electrician and have taken some basic electronics classes, but thats it so keep in mind when responding that i may not know what your talking about if it gets too in depth into the theory.

heres my question:

the car stereo that i have right now allows me to pair my cell phone with it via bluetooth, allowing me to talk through my stereo/car speakers. my goal is to be able to bypass the entire bluetooth operation and somehow wire a sim car reader out of an old cell phone directly into the stereo, allowing me to make phone calls without an actual cell phone being present. by doing this i wouldn't need to keep a charged cell phone in my car anymore because it would all be done within the stereo itself. keep in mind the stereo seen here: **broken link removed** already has the ability to dial the number directly on the faceplate, so all i would need is to implement the sim card.. i think.

i dont know how exactly these sim cards work (the one im working with is from t-mobile) or if it would be possible to make one from scratch. if anyone can lend a hand it would be greatly appreciated. diagrams/circuitry of similar or existing components are welcomed.

thank you.