Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Adding 30A Current Limiter to Low Volt-High Curret circuit

Status
Not open for further replies.

Scopemaster

I am quite new to electronic circuits. I have just completed my first circuit that works... WaHooo. I need to ad a couple of features and can't seem to get understanding on making it happen.

I built the 12V 30Amp PSU as found **broken link removed** . Instead of using the LM7812C I used the LM350T. Needed to regulate between 2 & 5V and needed a full 30amps.

Today I found I could adjust over 35amps. I need to limit this to fold back or at least limit the total current output. I read up on the LM350T https://www.electro-tech-online.com/custompdfs/2005/10/LM150.pdf mfg data sheet web page on page 10 explains a precision Current Limiter. I am having trouble understanding how to tie in both the by pass transistors TIP2955 & LM350T to the discribed current regulation.

And as a second request: Is there a method to hook up a LED to indicate issues such as over current conditions should this happen?[[/url]

Re: Adding 30A Current Limiter to Low Volt-High Curret circu

Scopemaster said:
I am quite new to electronic circuits. I have just completed my first circuit that works... WaHooo. I need to ad a couple of features and can't seem to get understanding on making it happen.

I built the 12V 30Amp PSU as found **broken link removed** . Instead of using the LM7812C I used the LM350T. Needed to regulate between 2 & 5V and needed a full 30amps.